All of the following are true regarding a legal softball field, EXCEPT:
The field shall be free of obstructions between the foul lines.
The field shall contain an infield diamond.
The field shall contain an outfield area enclosed by a fence.
The bases are 60 feet apart when a 12-inch ball is used.
The pitching distance is 43 feet for female fast-pitch games.
With R1 on third base, R2 on second base and one out, B4 hits a deep fly ball to F9 that is caught. R1 leaves the base before F9 first touches the ball, but R2 legally tags. Both R1 and R2 score as F9’s throw is off target. Before the next pitch, the opposing team appeals that R1 left early. What is the correct ruling?
R1 is declared out for the third out and R1’s run is negated, but R2’s run counts since R2 scored prior to the appeal.
Since F9’s throw was off target, both R1 and R2 would have scored easily so both runs count.
R1 is declared out for the third out and R1’s run is negated. R2’s run counts since the only appeal that would negate a run is missing a base.
R1 is declared out for the third out of the inning. Since the third out was an appeal of the lead runner, neither run scores.
B3 erroneously bats out of order in place of B2. The error is discovered by the opposing team while B3 is at bat with a 3 ball-2 strike count. The correct ruling is:
B3 is declared out.
B2 replaces B3 and assumes the 3–2 count.
B3 is allowed to finish the at-bat.
B2 replaces B3 and starts with a new count since B2 hasn’t received any pitches.
Which of the following statements about bats qualifies as an altered bat?
Bats should be free of rattles, dents, burrs, cracks and sharp edges.
Materials inside the bat or treatment/devices used to alter bat specifications and/or enhance performances are prohibited.
There is a minor nick or paint chip in the bat from metal cleats.
None of the above.
When a legal substitute replaces a courtesy runner, the player for whom the courtesy runner was running for has left the game.
True
False
B1 fails to promptly take a position in the batter’s box within the 10 seconds after the ball is returned to the pitcher to prepare for the next pitch. What is the correct ruling?
The umpire awards an additional five seconds and play continues.
The umpire grants the batter time until the batter is ready for play to resume.
The umpire declares the batter out for delaying the game.
The umpire calls a strike on the batter.
What factors should umpires consider in determining when to leave the field at the end of the game?
Leave the field before all fielders have left fair territory and the catcher has vacated the normal fielding position.
Return to the field after they have left to make every attempt to get the call right.
When teams line up to shake hands following the completion of the game.
Umpires should remain on the field to watch for unsporting behavior by either team in the handshake line.
Which of the following is NOT true about gloves/mitts?
Gloves/mitts shall not be the color of the ball including lacing and seams.
Gloves/mitts shall be a maximum of two colors.
Gloves/mitts shall be permitted to have one American flag not to exceed 2 inches by 3 inches.
Gloves/mitts shall not be judged as distracting by the umpire.
With no outs and R1 on first base, B2 hits a ground ball on the first-base side of the infield. F4 moves into the baseline to make an initial play on a batted ball. R1, using normal movement, alters the base path going either behind or in front of F4 to avoid contact with F4 fielding the ball. The correct call is:
The umpire signals obstruction on F4 for causing R1 to alter the path. Awarding R1 the base that would have been achieved had it not been for the obstruction on F4.
If R1 runs in front of F4, the umpire should signal dead ball and call interference because R1 is never allowed to run in front of F4 when F4 is making an initial play on a batted ball.
R1’s movement is to avoid interfering with a fielder attempting to make the initial play on a batted ball, so as long as in the umpire’s judgment there is not interference, this is a legal play.
R1 is called out because R1 is not allowed to alter the base path. R1 must stop to avoid contacting F4 making the initial play on a batted ball.
The softball field includes an elevated cement step in front of each dugout. B1 hits a foul fly caught by F3 such that F3’s right foot is on the ground completely in live-ball territory and F3’s left foot is on the elevated cement step with half the foot on the step and the other half over live-ball territory but completely off the ground. What is the result of the play?
B1 is out on a good catch by F3; the ball is live and in play.
Foul ball; the ball is dead and B1 remains at bat.
B1 is out on a good catch by F3; the ball is dead.
Foul ball; the ball is live and in play and B1 remains at bat.
None of the above.
R1 is on first base. B2 hits a pitch to F6 with one foot touching the ground completely outside the batter’s box. F4 obstructs R1 advancing to second base. The correct ruling is:
Delayed dead ball. B2 is out but R1 is awarded second base for F4 obstructing.
Dead ball. B2 is out and R1 must return to first base.
Delayed dead ball. B2 is out and R1 advances at their own risk.
Dead ball. B2 is out. R1 is awarded second base if F4’s obstruction occurred before B2 contacted the ball.
The umpire notices that B3 is wearing a smartwatch. When the coach calls out the signal to the batter, B3 looks at the smartwatch and then steps into the batter’s box. What is the correct ruling?
There is no penalty for communicating with a smartwatch.
The smartwatch is considered jewelry and the team is issued a warning.
B3 is out and restricted to the dugout for wearing a smartwatch.
B3 is using an electronic device to communicate with the coach outside of the dugout. B3 is ejected unless the umpire deems it to be of a minor nature.
Which of the following would result in a coach being in violation of bench and field conduct rules?
Entering behind the catcher while the opposing pitcher and catcher are in their positions.
Being outside the dugout while their team is on defense.
Having objects other than scorekeeping and stopwatch devices in the coach’s box.
All of the above.
The ball becomes dead in all of the following situations, EXCEPT:
There is interference by a runner or retired runner.
The batter enters the batter’s box with an illegal bat.
An infielder intentionally drops a fair fly ball with first base occupied and less than two outs.
An illegal pitch is delivered.
The batter-runner steps backward toward home plate to avoid being tagged. out.
B1 bunts a ball that bounces off the plate and rolls in front of the plate. As B1 runs toward first base with one foot partially touching the foul line and the other foot completely in the running lane. F2 fields the ball and the throw to first base contacts B1. The correct call is:
F2 is ejected for unsporting behavior.
B1 is out for interference.
B1 can choose to use either the white or orange base.
This is a legal play. B1 is considered to be in the running lane and is safe at first base if B1 reaches the base before being put out.
Regarding the taper of a softball bat, which statement is NOT in compliance with the current rules?
The taper connects the narrower handle to the wider portion of the bat.
The taper of a bat is defined as having a solid surface.
The taper shall have a conical shape since it connects the narrower handle to the wider portion of the bat.
All are correct statements.
With the ball in the circle in F1’s possession, and there is no attempt by F1 to make a play on a base runner, when is the runner declared out based on the look-back rule?
The batter-runner is safe at first base on a dropped third strike. She overruns first base and turns to the right. Seeing no fielder near second base, she runs toward second where she is safe.
The batter-runner gets a base hit and rounds first base and comes to a complete stop. She then returns to first base.
The batter-runner who gets an infield hit and overruns first base toward right field turns left, stops and then advances to second base.
The batter-runner gets a base hit and overruns first base toward right field, turns left and moves toward the infield in any direction except toward second base, then returns to first base.
Legal bats must:
Bear the 2000, 2004 or the USA Softball All Games Certification Mark.
Not be listed on the USA Softball’s Non-Approved Bat List.
Bear the 2000, 2004 or the USA Softball All Games Certification Mark and not be listed on the USA Softball’s Non-Approved Bat List.
None of the above.
R1 is at third base. B2 hits a ground ball to F6 who throws to first base, which is a double first base. B2 touches the white portion and collides with F3 who is standing on the white portion about to receive the ball. The correct ruling is:
B2 is out but R1 can advance on the play.
B2 may run to the white base and is safe if B2 beats the ball.
Since B2 was running to the white base, F3 must use the colored base.
The ball is dead, B2 is out, and R1 must return to the last base touched at the time of interference.
The plate umpire notices that B1 steps into the batter’s box with an altered bat.
The umpire shall wait for an appeal from the defensive team.
The umpire shall penalize a strike on the batter.
The umpire shall declare B1 out and remove the bat. B1 and the head coach are both ejected.
There is no penalty until B1 hits the ball.
B1 bats out of order and reaches first base. F1 then steps onto the pitcher’s plate and commits an illegal pitch. The defense then appeals that B1 has batted out of order. What is the correct ruling?
B1 is declared out and the next batter comes to the plate.
B1 is replaced by the legal batter at first base.
The defense can no longer appeal batting out of order since the infraction was not appealed prior to the next pitch.
The defense is allowed to appeal since the pitch was illegal and the player that B1 batted in place of is called out.
With R1 on second base, B2 is at bat with a 1 ball-1 strike count. The next pitch is wild and gets away from F2 as R1 attempts to steal third base. In an attempt to retrieve the ball, F2 throws the helmet and stops the ball, then throws R1 out at third base. What is the correct ruling?
R1 is awarded third base and B2 is awarded first base.
R1 is awarded third base and B2 continues the at-bat with a 2–1 count.
R1 remains out and B2 continues the at-bat with a 2–1 count.
R1 is returned to second base and B2 continues the at-bat with a 2–1 count.
Which statement about bats is correct?
Bats should be free of rattles, dents, burrs, cracks and sharp edges.
Materials inside the bat or treatment/devices used to alter bat specifications and/or enhance performances are prohibited and render the bat illegal.
A nick or paint chip in the bat from metal cleats that does not extend into the laminations of the bat should not render a bat illegal.
All of the above.
All of the following statements about sliding are true EXCEPT:
If a runner slides, it may be feet first or head first.
In order to complete a legal slide, a runner must be able to touch the base with either the hand or foot.
In order for a runner to avoid unnecessary contact, the runner is required to slide if a fielder has possession of the ball and is waiting to make a tag.
On an over-slide, a runner may be tagged out if the runner does not remain in contact with the base.
A fair ball is a batted ball that, while over fair territory, an offensive player interferes with a defensive player attempting to field a batted ball.
True.
False.
B1 hits a dribbler a few feet down the first-base line. F2 fields the ball and doesn’t throw because B1 is outside the running lane and in the way of a potential throw.
Plate umpire calls dead ball and B1 is out for interference.
Plate umpire indicates the ball is fair. There is no interference by B1.
Plate umpire signals delayed dead ball. At the end of the play, if the umpire judges that F2 could have made an out, call B1 out for interference.
Plate umpire calls dead ball and issues a warning to the offense for being outside the running lane.
A small hole has naturally occurred in front of the pitching plate during the course of the game. On the pitch, the pitcher pushes off the plate with the pivot foot and loses contact with the ground as the foot is dragged across the hole. The pivot foot, however, is no higher than the level plane of the ground around the hole as the pitch is delivered. What is the correct call?
No call. The pitch is legal because in the umpire’s judgment, the foot would have been in contact with the ground had the hole not been present.
No pitch, and the game is delayed until the hole can be repaired.
Illegal pitch because the pivot foot is not touching the ground in the bottom of the hole.
No pitch and the pitcher receives a warning. If the pivot foot fails to touch the ground in the bottom of the hole on future pitches, an illegal pitch will be called.
With one out, R1 on third base and R2 on second base, B4 hits a fly ball on the first-base side of second base almost directly at F4. As R2 takes a couple of steps toward third base, she makes contact with F6, who is moving toward the batted ball.
The umpire signals and verbalizes “dead ball”; R2 is out for interfering with F6’s opportunity to make an initial play on a batted ball.
The umpire signals and verbalizes “dead ball”; R2 is out for interfering with F6’s opportunity to make a live-ball appeal of R2 leaving early if the fly ball is caught.
The umpire makes no call; this is nothing more than a “train wreck” with both players doing what they were supposed to do.
The umpire signals delayed dead ball and verbalizes “Obstruction.” F6 is guilty of obstructing R2.
The batter is standing in the batter’s box when an inside pitch hits the batter in the knee completely in the batter’s box. The proper call is:
Dead ball and the batter is awarded first base.
Strike on the batter because the batter needs to make an effort to get out of the way of the pitch.
Strike on the batter because the pitcher is entitled to throw over the inner part of the batter’s box.
None of the above.
Which of the following is true regarding knee and ankle braces that are unaltered from the manufacturer’s original design/production?
They do not require any additional padding/covering.
They must be covered with athletic tape.
They must be padded with 1/2-inch-thick foam.
They are permitted with a doctor’s note.
All of the above.
F1 and F5 switch defensive positions after one out in the third inning. Later in the third inning, the same two players may switch positions again. This is legal.
True
False
R1 is on third base and the infielders are playing in for a potential play at the plate. B2 hits a ball sharply down the third-base line that passes F6 before striking R1, while R1 is standing on third base. The correct call is:
An immediate dead ball for hitting R1. Award B2 first base and leave R1 on third base.
An immediate dead ball for hitting R1. Award B2 first base and call R1 out.
An immediate dead ball for hitting R1. Call both R1 and B2 out.
Signal fair ball and allow play to continue.
If worn, headwear (caps, visors, headband, ribbons, etc.) must be which of the following:
All the same color.
White, black, beige or school colors.
The same color for all team members.
The same style for all team members.
All of the following are true regarding the ball rotation, EXCEPT:
A pitcher has a choice of balls at the start of each half-inning if both balls have been in play.
The unused ball must be put into play in the bottom of the first inning if it is not used in the top of the first inning.
The ball in play should be returned to the 16-foot circle after every half-inning.
The pitcher may possess both balls and choose the one desired to start that half-inning.
None of the above.
The ball becomes dead immediately when a batted ball touches any base runner.
True
False
B1 hits a fly ball in foul territory near the first-base line and the batter-runner collides with F3 while attempting to field the fly ball in foul territory. What is the correct ruling?
The umpire shall signal a delayed dead ball.
The ball is dead, B1 is out and since this is a foul ball, runner(s) must return to the base occupied at the time of the pitch.
It is the fielder’s responsibility to avoid the batter-runner if B1 is in the running lane and there is no penalty.
The batter-runner is ejected because any collision is considered malicious contact.
The penalty for using an altered bat includes all of the following, EXCEPT:
The coach is ejected.
The batter is ejected.
The batter is out.
The coach is restricted to the dugout/bench for the remainder of the game.
B1 bunts the ball in front of home plate. As B1 is running to first base, B1 is hit with the throw from F2. Which of the following is used in determining if the runner is out for interference?
If either foot last contacted the ground completely outside of the 3-foot lane.
If the batter-runner’s left foot is outside the 3-foot lane but is in the air at the moment the batter-runner is hit with the throw.
If the batter-runner was hit in fair territory.
If the batter-runner has both feet on the ground when hit with the throw.
A batting helmet shall be worn by offensive personnel while:
The ball is live and the player is in live-ball territory.
The on-deck batter is in the on-deck circle and the ball is live.
Base runners are on base, the ball is live and they are in live-ball territory.
All of the above.
The pitcher deliberately rolls the ball to home plate to keep the batter from striking it. The umpire should:
Call no pitch and direct the pitcher to throw a legal pitch.
Award a ball to the batter, and advance all runners one base.
Call a delayed dead ball for an illegal pitch.
Ask if the pitcher would like to declare an intentional walk.
In which of the following situations is the batter out?
The batter attempts to confuse the pitcher by stepping out of the box on one side of home plate to the box on the other side while the pitcher is in position ready to pitch.
A bunt on the third strike is foul.
The batter throws the bat and interferes with a defensive player attempting a play.
All of the above.
With no outs and R1 on second base, B2 is at bat with a 2-ball, 1-strike count. On the pitch, the ball contacts the jersey of B2 completely in the batter’s box while R1 attempts to steal third base. The catcher throws to third base and R1 is tagged out. What is the correct ruling?
Ball is live, R1 is out and batter has a 3–1 count.
Ball is dead, B2 is awarded first base, R1 is out at third base.
Ball is dead, B2 is awarded first base, R1 goes back to second base.
Live ball, only B2’s jersey was contacted, not B2.
Team A’s pitcher has a pink digital camouflage arm sleeve on the pitching arm extending from the uniform top all the way down to the wrist. The ruling should be:
Legal, sleeves are not covered in NFHS softball rules.
Legal, as long as it does not contain any of the opposing team colors.
Illegal, the sleeve must be removed or covered. Sleeves must follow the same color restrictions as exposed undergarments. They must be a single solid color: black, white, gray or school color.
Illegal, sleeves are not allowed to be worn.
Which statement is NOT an example of interference?
Batter-runner running outside the 3-foot lane interferes with the fielder taking the throw at first base.
The batter-runner makes contact with a fair batted ball before reaching first base.
The batter-runner stops between home plate and first base to delay being tagged out.
The batter-runner remains in the batter’s box on a play at home plate in order to prevent an obvious out.
A head coach who intends to utilize the DP/Flex option must alert the umpires and opposing team:
Before that coach’s team bats for the first time.
Before that coach’s team throws its first pitch on defense.
During the exchange of lineup cards at home plate during the pregame conference.
Before the DP’s first at-bat.
R1 is on first base with one out. B2 hits a long fly ball to left field. The ball is over foul territory when first touched and is dropped by F7. On the fly ball, R1 touched second base and was moving to third base as the ball was dropped. R1 shall:
Retrace the path retouching second base before returning to first.
Be awarded second base, as it was legally achieved while the ball was over fair territory.
Return to first base with or without retouching bases since it is ruled a foul ball.
Retouch first base before the ball gets to the pitching circle.
There are four criteria that an umpire uses to judge whether a batter attempted to hit or bunt the pitched ball. Which statement is NOT correct?
Rolling the wrist and swinging through the pitched ball is considered an attempt.
If the bat is drawn back before the pitch gets to the bat, it is not an attempt.
Holding a bat in the strike zone is not a strike nor an attempt to swing.
The batter makes an attempt to hit the pitch.
R1 steals second and slides into second safely. R1’s helmet falls off and the umpire notices the runner is wearing earrings. What is the correct ruling?
The runner is out for wearing jewelry.
The runner is safe and the team is issued a warning.
There is no penalty for wearing jewelry.
The umpire sends the runner back to first.
All of the following team personnel are permitted outside the designated dugout/bench, EXCEPT:
The batter.
Runners on base.
The on-deck batter.
Defensive players.
The coach giving defensive signals.
B1, identified on the lineup card as the pitcher, reaches base in the top of the first inning and a courtesy runner is used. As B1 goes to take the pitcher’s plate in the bottom of the first inning, she is injured and unable to pitch to the first batter. The result is:
The team must play with only eight players.
The courtesy runner becomes B1’s substitute retroactively and B1 has left the game.