North Central Alabama
Softball Umpires

2024-25 AHSAA Softball Practice Exam

  • B1 enters the batter’s box on the right side while the pitcher is in position ready to pitch. B1 disconcerts the pitcher by moving to the left-hand batter’s box. The correct ruling is:
    • Allow the pitcher to reset and continue to play.
    • Allow the pitcher to reset and warn the head coach the next infraction would result in an out on the batter.
    • The ball is dead immediately and batter is called out.
    • An illegal pitch is called on the pitcher.
  • R1 is on second base. The batter has a count of two balls and one strike. The pitcher pitches a ball not in the batter’s box and the batter intentionally strikes the ball with their elbow. What is the call?
    • Dead ball, award batter first base.
    • Dead ball, award batter first base and R1 third base.
    • Dead ball, batter remains in the batter’s box and the count is three balls and one strike.
    • None of the above.
  • It is interference and the batter-runner shall be called out if the batter-runner:
    • Interferes with a fielder attempting to make an initial play on a fair batted ball.
    • Interferes with a fielder attempting to field a fly ball over foul territory.
    • Makes contact with a fair batted ball before reaching first base.
    • All of the above constitute interference.
  • It is a legal pitch if:
    • The pitcher, from behind the pitcher’s plate, takes the sign from the catcher, then steps on the pitcher’s plate and simulates taking a signal before starting the pitch.
    • The pitcher, after bringing the hands together, starts a step back before the hands are separated.
    • When pushing off from the pitching plate, the pitcher’s pivot foot disengages from the ground.
    • All of the above.
  • Which of the following statements is correct?
    • Pitching from a distance of 40 feet is allowed if both coaches agree at the pregame conference.
    • A pitcher is allowed to use rock rosin prior to the pitch.
    • In the bottom of the first inning, the pitcher must throw an unused ball if both balls to start the game have not been put into play.
    • A pitcher may request a change of balls as many times as the pitcher wants.
  • Team A’s school colors are purple and gold. What color ribbons may the players wear?
    • Players may wear gold ribbons.
    • Players may wear gold or purple ribbons.
    • Players may wear any color ribbons.
    • Players may wear ribbons only with state association approval.
  • In fast pitch softball, all bats shall meet the ASA/USA Softball Bat Performance Standard and have what certification marks?
    • 2000, 2004 or the USA Softball All Games.
    • 2004
    • 2000, 2004 or 2013.
    • None of the above.
  • Which of the following statements is legal in regard to the use of one-way communication?
    • The pitcher checks their smartwatch or other device before every pitch.
    • The catcher checks their smartwatch or other device before every pitch.
    • The coach uses one-way communication while on the field of play.
    • All of these are legal.
  • B1 bunts the ball in front of home plate. As B1 is running to first base, B1 is hit with the throw from F2. Which of the following is used in determining if the runner is out for interference?
    • If either foot last contacted the ground completely outside of the 3-foot lane.
    • If the batter-runner’s left foot is outside the 3-foot lane but is in the air at the moment the batter-runner is hit with the throw.
    • If the batter-runner was hit in fair territory.
    • If the batter-runner has both feet on the ground when hit with the throw.
  • The game begins when the:
    • Pre-game conference ends.
    • Home team takes the field for warm-ups.
    • Umpire calls “Play Ball.”
    • First pitch is thrown.
  • All the following are legal apparel except:
    • All players are wearing a white arm sleeve.
    • All players are wearing a black knee sleeve.
    • Some players are wearing camouflage arm sleeves in the school colors.
    • Some players are wearing gray tights.
  • With the bases loaded and less than two outs, F4 is using ordinary effort to catch a pop-up. The correct call is:
    • “Infield fly if fair” is called by the umpire and if the ball remains fair the batter is out.
    • Runners may not advance at any time.
    • Only an infielder can catch an infield fly.
    • If the ball is ruled foul, it still is an infield fly.
  • All of the following are true statements regarding the designated player (DP), EXCEPT:
    • The DP is one of the nine hitters in the batting order.
    • The DP may be substituted for at any time by a legal substitute.
    • The DP may play defense only for the FLEX.
    • The DP has left the game if the FLEX bats.
    • The DP must remain in the same position in the batting order for the entire game.
  • After an initial warning to the head coach, any subsequent change to the lineup card for an inaccuracy will result in:
    • The head coach being restricted to the dugout/bench for the remainder of the game.
    • The head coach being ejected.
    • The player/substitute who is being changed/added being restricted to the dugout/bench for the remainder of the game.
    • A and C only.
    • B and C only.
  • A fair ball is a batted ball that:
    • Settles or is touched on or over fair territory between home and first base.
    • Touches first base.
    • While over fair territory, an offensive player interferes with a defensive player attempting to field a batted ball.
    • All of the above would result in a fair ball.
  • In a contest within a state that requires the use of a double first base, a coach indicates he does not want to play the game with a double first base. Which statement is correct?
    • If both coaches agree, the double first base may be removed.
    • The double first base rule must be used in all contests.
    • Any type of base is permissible in states that adopt the double first base.
    • The contrasting color portion of first base can be removed when the aforementioned coach’s team is on defense.
  • Once the third out is made by the defense, the teams are given one minute between innings to prepare for the new half-inning. Once the allowed one minute has expired, which of the following is true?
    • The batter must place both feet inside the batter’s box within 10 seconds or a strike is called on the batter.
    • The pitcher must release the first pitch of the half-inning within 20 seconds or a ball is awarded to the batter.
    • In between pitches, the pitcher has 20 seconds to release the next pitch once the ball has been returned to the pitcher.
    • All of the above.
  • R1 is standing on third base when the pitcher receives the ball in the circle with feet partially outside the line of the circle. R1 takes two steps toward home plate and stops. R1 is:
    • Safe.
    • Out.
    • Runner can stop and then continue home.
    • Runner can return to third.
  • When a coach makes a substitution during a game, the home plate umpire is required to report the substitution to:
    • The opposing team’s scorekeeper.
    • The opposing team’s head coach.
    • The opposing team’s captain.
    • The opposing team’s base coaches.
  • Umpire jurisdiction begins:
    • Upon the arrival of one umpire within the confines of the field.
    • Upon the arrival of two umpires within the confines of the field.
    • When the pregame conference begins.
    • Upon the conclusion of the pregame conference.
    • Upon the arrival of one umpire to the facility/park/school.
  • The DP may be substituted for at any time by:
    • A legal substitute.
    • The FLEX playing offense.
    • Anyone else in the batting order.
    • A and B only.
    • A, B and C.
  • B1 steps in the batter’s box and the umpire immediately notices the batter is wearing jewelry. Which of the following is not allowed during play?
    • Necklace.
    • Small stud earrings.
    • A standard watch.
    • All of the above are legal to wear during play.
  • There are two outs and R1 is on second base. B4 strikes out but F2 drops the ball. B4 is able to reach first base while F2 chases down the ball. F2 then overthrows third base as R1 is advancing and the ball bounces over the fence in foul territory. What is the correct procedure for advancement of the runners?
    • R1 is awarded home and B4 is awarded second base.
    • R1 is awarded home and B4 is awarded third base.
    • R1 is awarded third base and B4 is awarded first base.
    • R1 is awarded third base and B4 is awarded second base.
  • Which action is not legal for a courtesy runner?
    • The courtesy runner has not participated in the game.
    • The courtesy runner runs for the pitcher only.
    • The courtesy runner runs for the catcher only.
    • The courtesy runner becomes a substitute in the same half-inning they were a courtesy runner.
  • The umpire notices F6 is wearing a smartwatch on the playing field. Which of the following is true?
    • Smartwatches are allowed as long as they are not used to communicate outside of the dugout on offense, or by anyone other than F2 on defense.
    • Smartwatches are allowed to be worn even if they are used by any player to communicate while outside of the dugout.
    • Smartwatches are not allowed to be worn.
    • No jewelry, including smartwatches, is allowed to be worn on the playing field.
  • Which statement about a catch is correct?
    • The fielder must have control and release of the ball must be voluntary.
    • If a ball strikes anything or anyone other than a defensive player while it is in flight, it shall be ruled a ground ball and not a catch.
    • If a fielder catches a ball but drops it while transferring to the throwing hand or in making a throw, the umpire shall still rule it a catch.
    • All of the above.
  • Which of the following would be an illegal pitch?
    • A step backward is taken after the hands have come together but prior to the start of the pitch.
    • Once the pitch has started, the pitcher takes no more than one step forward.
    • The hands come together and apart, then together again while standing on the pitching plate.
    • When the hands are apart and come together off the pitching plate as long as the hands are separated prior to stepping onto the pitcher’s plate.
  • Team B has runners on second base and third base with one out and B4 coming to the plate. Team A’s coach can:
    • Tell the umpire Team A wants to walk B4 and have B4 proceed to first base.
    • Roll four pitches on the ground to B
    • Throw four legal pitches outside the strike zone to B
    • Both A and C are correct.
  • Which statement is an incorrect ruling of interference?
    • If a retired runner impedes a fielder making a play on another runner, the runner closest to home is always declared out.
    • If a runner has not yet been put out and interference occurs to break up a double play, the immediate succeeding runner is also called out.
    • Interference is only awarded in situations where the runner physically contacts a fielder.
    • B4 hits a fair ground ball but R1 from second base hinders F6 making an initial play. The batter-runner is never called out as a result of this interference. If there are less than two outs, the batter-runner is awarded first base.
  • The ball always becomes immediately dead when:
    • While running to first, the batter-runner stops to delay being tagged.
    • A batter strikes at a pitch that touches them.
    • A runner passes another runner.
    • A batter-runner is obstructed before touching first base.
  • R1 is caught in a rundown between third base and home plate. As R1 is attempting to return to third base, R1 is obstructed by F5 and subsequently tagged while off the base by F6. The correct call is:
    • Always an immediate dead ball when a runner is obstructed.
    • When a fielder obstructs a runner, the initial call is always a delayed dead ball. Once the obstructed runner is put out, it becomes a dead ball and the umpires shall award R1 the base that would have been reached had there been no obstruction.
    • R1 is awarded home.
    • The umpire will issue a warning to F5 and notify F5’s coach.
  • Which of the following shall be labeled on all softballs?
    • Maximum COR.
    • Maximum Compression.
    • Both Maximum COR and Maximum Compression.
    • None of the above.
  • A pitcher touches a towel containing an approved drying agent in a back pocket then goes directly to the ball. What is the proper ruling?
    • Illegal pitch, must wipe hand before going to the ball.
    • Ball should be removed from play and pitcher is warned.
    • Legal, approved drying agents do not have to be removed from hands.
    • Illegal, no drying agents can be used in NFHS softball.
  • A strike is charged to the batter when:
    • A penalty strike is called because a batter delays.
    • A batted ball contacts the batter in the batter’s box (foul ball).
    • A pitched ball contacts the batter while swinging at the ball or the batter is hit by the pitch that is in the strike zone (dead-ball strike).
    • All of the above.
  • The umpire shall immediately remove a player from the game who exhibits the following signs or symptoms of a concussion:
    • Dizziness.
    • Confusion.
    • Headache.
    • Loss of consciousness.
    • All of the above.
  • The ball becomes dead in all of the following situations, EXCEPT:
    • There is interference by a runner or retired runner.
    • The batter enters the batter’s box with an illegal bat.
    • An infielder intentionally drops a fair fly ball with first base occupied and less than two outs.
    • An illegal pitch is delivered.
    • The batter-runner steps backward toward home plate to avoid being tagged out.
  • An on-deck batter may not warm up with more than:
    • One bat.
    • Two bats.
    • Three bats.
    • NFHS rules do not address this issue.
  • Which of the following is true when a non-adult is warming up a pitcher?
    • The non-adult catcher shall wear all of the catcher’s gear, including shinguards, chest protector and an approved catcher’s helmet/mask combination with a throat protector.
    • The non-adult catcher will be a player who is a legal substitute and has not yet entered the game.
    • The non-adult catcher must wear an approved helmet/mask combination with a throat protector. A batting helmet does not qualify as an approved catcher’s helmet/mask combination with a throat protector.
    • None of the above.
  • Which of the following locations can a pitcher wear a wristband with a playbook/playcard?
    • Pitching arm.
    • Non-pitching arm.
    • Belt.
    • All of the above.
  • Who can detect a batter who enters the batter’s box with an illegal bat or is discovered having used an illegal bat?
    • Only the offensive team can report it.
    • A fan.
    • Only the umpire or the defense can detect it.
    • Only the offensive coach can self-report.
  • During the act of pitching, which movement is not legal?
    • The pitcher drags the pivot foot away from the pitcher’s plate maintaining contact with the ground.
    • The pitcher steps back off the pitcher’s plate keeping both hands together and makes the first step back with either foot. Once completely off the pitcher’s plate, the pitcher separates the hands.
    • The pitcher replants the pivot foot before the act of delivering the pitch.
    • While the pitcher is pushing off from the pitching plate, both feet disengage from the ground.
  • In the first inning, the umpire notices that the pitcher has a glove with an optic marking on the inside of the glove that gives the appearance of the ball.
    • The pitcher shall be restricted to the bench for using illegal equipment.
    • The pitcher will be allowed to finish the inning before replacing the glove.
    • The pitcher can switch the glove with a teammate already playing defense.
    • The glove shall be replaced immediately, or it may be used if the optic marking is modified to no longer give the appearance of the ball.
  • With R1 on third base, R2 on second base and one out, B4 hits a deep fly ball to F9 that is caught. R1 leaves the base before F9 first touches the ball, but R2 legally tags. Both R1 and R2 score as F9’s throw is off target. Before the next pitch, the opposing team appeals that R1 left early. What is the correct ruling?
    • R1 is declared out for the third out and R1’s run is negated, but R2’s run counts since R2 scored prior to the appeal.
    • Since F9’s throw was off target, both R1 and R2 would have scored easily so both runs count.
    • R1 is declared out for the third out and R1’s run is negated. R2’s run counts since the only appeal that would negate a run is missing a base.
    • R1 is declared out for the third out of the inning. Since the third out was an appeal of the lead runner, neither run scores.
  • R1 is on first base with one out. B3 hits a ground ball to F4 and the batted ball hits R1 prior to F4 fielding the ball. What is the correct ruling?
    • R1 is called out, and B3 is awarded a base hit.
    • R1 is called out. B3 is entitled to first base without liability to be put out and credited with a fielder’s choice.
    • R1 is entitled to second base without liability to be put out and B3 is entitled to first base without liability to be put out.
  • The head coach will be restricted to dugout/bench for the remainder of the game for a second violation of the following:
    • Player or substitutes entering the game unreported.
    • A lineup correction.
    • Team personnel using illegal equipment.
    • All of the above.
  • Where is it permissible to obtain information from that is reviewed in the dugout for coaching purposes during the game?
    • In the dugout.
    • From a spectator in the stands.
    • Camera mounted on the catcher’s helmet.
    • All of the above.
    • A and B only.
  • A fair batted ball is wedged into the fence. The umpire should:
    • Call a dead ball and award the batter two bases from the time of the pitch.
    • Call a dead ball and award the batter a home run.
    • Call a dead ball and award the base that the umpire judges the batter would have reached had the ball not become wedged in the fence.
    • Award the batter the base that the batter was closest to when the ball became wedged in the fence.
  • Bases are loaded in the bottom of the seventh inning and the score is tied 3-3. B4 hits a fair ball that clears the home run fence. What is the final score?
    • The final score will be 7-3
    • The final score will be 4-3
  • At the end of the sixth inning, the home team is leading 8-5. In the top of the seventh inning, the visiting team scores four runs. During the bottom half of the seventh inning, after two batters reach base but no runs have been scored, the game is halted because of rain.
    • The visiting team wins by a score of 9-8
    • The home team wins by a score of 8-5
    • Since the seventh inning has not been completed, it is not a regulation game and will be called a “no game.”
    • The game is suspended.
  • With one out, R1 on third base and R2 on first base, B4 hits an over-the-fence home run. R2 misses third base and the third-base coach grabs R2 and pulls the runner back to touch third base. What is the proper ruling?
    • R2 is out for being physically assisted; R1 and B4’s (as long as they legally score) runs would count.
    • Since the ball is in dead-ball territory, there is no violation and all three runs would score on the play.
    • All three runs would score, but the third-base coach should be warned to not physically assist runners.
    • R2 is out for being physically assisted and the play is dead. R1’s run would score, but B4 would not be allowed to score.